Type keywords in the text box above.

Due to COVID-19 coronavirus, we are having to make temporary changes to our services. Click here to find out more Temporary Changes


#TRFTProud of our shortlisted nominees

01 Nov 2018 11:19:37
Proud 2018

The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust would like to say a big thank you to everyone who has sent in their nominations for our Proud Awards 2018.

Your nominations help us to identify exceptional NHS colleagues who pull out all the stops to deliver first class community and hospital services across our borough, and we are now delighted to announce the shortlist.

Thanks to an incredible response from members of the public and Trust colleagues, 59 individuals and teams have been shortlisted with a chance to receive an award at the Trust’s awards ceremony on 8 November. Over 460 nominations were received in total and all are also to be recognised by a personal letter to each nominee from the Trust’s Chief Executive, Louise Barnett or Chairman, Martin Havenhand.

We have received 152 nominations in the Public Recognition category alone, an award which provides a fantastic opportunity for members of the public to nominate individuals and/or teams who have made a real difference, provided high quality service and/or outstanding care.

The shortlisted nominees for The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust’s 2018 Proud Awards are:

Public Recognition Award
Kelly Guest, Early Attachment Service
Daniel McIntyre, IT Service Desk
Sarah Briggs, Heart Failure Team
Alcohol Liaison Service, Alcohol Liaison Service
Anna Hardman and Owen Dickinson, Dietician and Consultant Nurse in Endoscopy & Interventional Radiology

Unsung Hero
Janet King, Labour Ward
Susan Grundy, Procurement
Allen Blore, Estates
Samantha Pritchard, Wentworth South District Nurses
Barbara Smith, Breathing Space Occupational Therapy

Our Top Leader
Sandra Whiting, Community Occupational Therapy SPA
Lynda Astbury, Diabetes
Suzanne Owens, UECC

Clinical Team of the Year  
Theatre Team, Theatres
Trauma and Orthopaedics MDT, Surgery

Non-Clinical Team of the Year
Recruitment Team, HR
Staff Engagement and Wellbeing Team, HR
Pharmacy Stores and Procurement Team, Pharmacy

Learning and Development Award
Mary Dougan, Workforce Development Practitioner, Chief Nurse Team
David Baker, Respiratory Physiology
David Uttley and Terrie Russell, Theatres

Outstanding Volunteer
Samina Nawaz, Macmillan Cancer Information and Support Service
Chaplaincy Volunteers, Chaplaincy
Sally Moffett, Charity Volunteer

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr Dave Harling, Critical Care
Dr B Mondal, Community Geriatrics
Ruth Roddison, Acute Pain Team

Values Award - Together
Linda Bush, Katrina Bullen, Jill Scott, Janice Webster, Day Surgery Ward
Sitwell Ward, Urology
Lawrence Mellor, Adult Speech and Language Therapy

Values Award - Caring
Jennifer Turedi, Learning Disabilities
Paula Lowson, Macmillan Cancer Information and Support Service
Debbie Timms, Surgery

Values Award - Ambitious
Paediatric Acute Rapid Response Outreach Team, Children’s Community Nursing
Sandra Whiting, Community Occupational Therapy SPA
Susan Grundy, Procurement Department  

Strategic Objectives Award - Colleagues
Ben Vasey, Surgery
Dr Kim Russon, Day Surgery
Samantha Burgin, Ward B5

Strategic Objectives Award - Partners
The Winter Beds Project Team, CCC, CCG, private care homes
Care Coordination Centre with RDASH, CCC and RDASH
Martin Beaumont, Catering ISS

Strategic Objectives Award - Patients
Haley Read, Oakwood Community Unit
Hip and Knee School, Orthopaedics
Immunisation and Vaccination Team, 0-19 Service

Strategic Objectives Award - Governance
Surinder Ahuja, Pharmacy
Derek Stowe, Information Governance
Suzanne Rutter and Dawn Stewart, Charity and Governance

Strategic Objectives Award - Finance
Bethany Hoyland, Finance
Lynette Evans, Dermatology
Alex Ward, Finance

Innovation Award
Jenny Christie, Adult Speech and Language Therapy/Care Home Team
Caroline Parker, Palliative Care Team
Fiona Hendry and Katy Flint, Palliative Medicine
Joanne Cook and Midwives, Maternity

Shining Star Award
Lisa Hardy and Ward B5 team, Ward B5
Graham Royle, Estates
Samantha Pritchard, Wentworth South District Nurses

Chief Executive’s Award
Radiology team, Radiology
Alison Cowie, Children’s Acute and Complex Care
Lee White, MSK and Orthopaedics

Chairman’s Award
Keira Hayden, Urgent and Emergency Care Centre
Samantha Pritchard, Wentworth South District Nurses
Ruth Roddison, Acute Pain Team
Alison Cooper, Anaesthetics


Congratulations to our shortlisted colleagues and thank you to everyone who has taken the time to submit their special nominations. 

A special thank you also to Proud Awards sponsors, Essity, a leading global hygiene and health company dedicated to improving well-being through our products and solutions, essentials for everyday life.
 Essity logo
Alongside the Proud Awards ceremony, the Trust will run a week of celebration to mark the dedication and achievements of all those at the Trust. The week will also include a ceremony in recognition of over 20 colleagues who have achieved 40 years’ NHS service, a ceremony in recognition of learning and a volunteer celebration.